Skip to content

Daylight savings

October 30, 2011

When I was a teenager, I used to love the end of daylight savings because it meant an extra hour in the pub. I always had a curfew, but it was my best friend’s birthday around the same time daylight savings ended, so whenever we went out for her birthday we’d be given an extra hour of party time. It was lovely.

When I started college, that extra hour in the last weekend of October was mainly used for sleep. Sleep, sleep, more sleep. That seems to be what most college students are after. They’re like babies that way, I guess.

Tonight, as the end of daylight savings approached, I found myself getting really excited, but for a different reason. I figured out I could sleep until 9, then reset my clocks and BLAMMO! It will be 8am and I’ll have an extra hour to spend on writing papers, preparing my thesis, grading student compositions, and preparing for my new job.

Grad student life: it’s a special kind of insanity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

